Home » Books » A Game of Predictions (SPOILERS)

A Game of Predictions (SPOILERS)

Hi everyone!

image

With season five out of the way, I have decided to start a series of posts where I dare to guess what will happen to each surviving character in the show. My guesses will be based on what I know from the books, so please don’t get mad if you see me saying “oh x happened in the books, so this might happen in the series” or “x happened in the series, so this might happen in the books”. Any leaks or new chapter reveals by George will also be fuel for my fire.

I’m just doing this for a bit of fun and to keep my brain busy with this story as I wait for new material.

Needless to say, the whole series of posts will contain spoilers to anyone who is not caught up with the books and the t.v show.

I started off by making a list of the living characters, and I just realized that the first name on my list is the name of a character that is both dead in the books and the show: Jon Snow. I put his name first without even thinking about it, that is how convinced I am about him coming back to life.

Shortly after the season finale, Kit gave Entertainment Weekly an interview whew he categorically states that Jon snow is dead, and that he will not be back next season. Nothing evasive there (unlike what Michelle Fairley did on her ‘death interview’). So I say it’s just a big old lie. Of course he’s coming back.

Kit’s EW interview

Why do I say this? Well, besides the obvious (the fact that George has spent sooo much time building this guy’s story up, with all the stories behind his origins, all the prophecies, all the dreams, the visions the people around him. Yadda yadda), I freaked out when I saw Melissandre left the Wall to join Stannis in the siege of Winterfell. Why? Because she’s meant to resurrect him.

The simple fact that they bothered to bring her back to the Wall on the last episode (I bet she rode like the wind!) is all I needed to keep Jon’s continued existence on track. Simple as that. Add to that the fact that the show runners decided to have Melissandre meet Thoros and learn of his powers of resurrection (to her great surprise), is a bonus.

Anyway, this is just me justifying why I am including Jon Snow in my list.

Fun fact: I actually forgot the King in my list, added him last lol. Poor Tommen. Even Howland Reed made it before him.

I won’t be doing this character by character, as many characters are now meeting up, or possibly will be, so it will be a group of possible scenarios.
Any suggestion, critique or correction to my future series of posts will be very welcome, as long as it stays clean.

Edit: Game of Thrones photograph taken by Vanity Fair

Leave a Reply

