Home » Creating » Learning how to knit

Learning how to knit

Last night I decided to try to learn how to knit on my own. Mom’s way too busy to teach me, so the next best thing is Youtube! There are some pretty neat and helpful videos out there, and this lady from knittinghelp.com has filmed things really well. She explains things calmly, takes her time, and it’s all a blessing lol.

I tired some of the things she mentioned in her video, like the purl stitch, and I’m doing it in the english style, I find it much easier than the continental style.
I make several mistakes, all of them, or most, when I let my mind drift and I stop paying direct attention to what I am doing. My main problem at the moment is seeing a mistake is there, but not knowing how to fix it. I can’t really understand, or see how the yarn moves when it is still.

Hopefully with practice I will begin to understand how things work and I’ll be able to fix things instead of just destroying everything and starting again (doesn’t bother me for now as I am just practicing over and over again).

I also have to find a video that explains how to join two ends together, or else I’ll be making a never ending scarf lol.

image

4 thoughts on “Learning how to knit

  1. YouTube and the Knit PIcks tutorials were how I learned to knit, having no one around who could teach me. It takes practice, but it looks like you’re already doing better than I was when I started out. Best of luck!! (Oh and I love the colours in that picture!)

    • Thanks! It was a old yarn ball I had. I recently used it on a jar makeover (it’s photographed in a previous post here). I did watch the videos a bit before I even started, so I had a bit of a head start hehe πŸ™‚ . Hopefully I’ll manage to make something I can be proud of one of these days πŸ™‚ .

      How long did it take you until you felt totally confident about knitting, if I may ask?

      Thanks for your comment!

      • Probably a few months. I spent every evening after work practicing my knitting on one project after another. Eventually I got to a point where I stopped losing or gaining stitches randomly, and that’s when I started feeling confident. I still mess up all the time (at least once per project, usually more), but I think if you’re fearless and don’t let the mistakes discourage you, the whole process is more fun and easier to pick up. πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

