Home » Books » The Bear and the Maiden Fair (contains slight spoilers)

The Bear and the Maiden Fair (contains slight spoilers)

The Bear and the Maiden Fair was the episode I had been longing for, so much that I wasn’t even paying proper attention to the rest of the episode (but yes Theon, I did notice you, you did not suffer in vain). I am glad this was the episode G.R.R Martin chose to write, it contained one of the best moments in the books, the only alternative would be, in my opinion, The Rains of Castamere episode (did you notice the music at the end of this episode? Brace yourselves!).

Gwendoline did not disappoint, although I was expecting Jaime to give his “I dreamed of you” line. I guess they couldn’t bother with making him wake up from a dream, or thought it was too cheesy, but I think Jaime’s dream was important, or the feelings he felt in them were important (hard to put into play, I know I know, but he dreamt of her dammit!“. The only part I thought was a bit off was Brienne’s face once she was safe, she still looked so tough, I would have thought she’s look a bit more surprised at the outcome or, relieved. Still works for me though, looking tough is her shield.

image

Brienne's coolest moment, besides slamming Ser Loras onto the ground, aaand owning three men on her own...

I am now dreading the second last episode, it will be a tough one and I should have accepted it by now. All that is left for me to hope is that the season ends as I’d like it to end, with a spooky Lady Stoneheart staring into the camera lense… WAHAHA!!!

    And who are you, the proud lord said,
    that I must bow so low?
    Only a cat of a different coat,
    that’s all the truth I know.
    In a coat of gold or a coat of red,
    a lion still has claws,
    And mine are long and sharp, my lord,
    as long and sharp as yours.
    And so he spoke, and so he spoke,
    that lord of Castamere,
    But now the rains weep o’er his hall,
    with no one there to hear.
    Yes now the rains weep o’er his hall,
    and not a soul to hear.

*sigh*

Leave a Reply

