Home » Series » In all justice, Sandor Clegane (The Hound) is also one of my favourite characters

In all justice, Sandor Clegane (The Hound) is also one of my favourite characters

I recently mentioned who my favourite characters in A Game of Thrones were. I forgot to mention one: Sandor Clegane. In the middle of all the treason, corruption, hate, rape, filth, greed, lust and what-not, Sandor Clegane is a rock.
In the midst of his torments, his physical appearance and all the characters that supposedly can rule over him, he will do only what he thinks is right. “A hound will die for you, but never lie to you”.
I love the fact that he is the only man willing to protect Sansa, yet he is the only man that does not accept the title of “Knight”, whereas the other knights, supposed defenders of vulnerable maidens, will beat her and humiliate her at the King’s command.
This is not the only time Sandor shows his integrity, he faces his brother to defend Ser Loras from his brother, The Mountain that Rides (and just about the cruelest, most vicious and disgusting horrible character I have seen in the story).
There are also other examples of his integrity along the story, and I hope I get to see many more as I read on, or watch season 3 πŸ™‚

(Might upset more sensitive viewers) Sandor bravely enters the mass of angry townfolk (that killed several of the King’s men and the Septon) to save Sansa from a terrible fate.

… Like a boss. In a moment of weakness, when his fear of fire comes over him, he realises that in the grand scheme of things, all he has been defending holds no value, moral or monetary. Only the purity and innocence of Sansa held him to King’s Landing.

 

2 thoughts on “In all justice, Sandor Clegane (The Hound) is also one of my favourite characters

    • Yeah I know what you mean. In A Clash of Kings he’s always running around back and forth in his nocturnal investigations, learning things oooh so painfully slow. I’m up to the part when Theon (SPOILERS!!!!!!! ——> you now had enough time to stop reading if you have not seen or read all of the 2nd part…3…2…1) conquers Winterfell, and I am hoping things will get more interesting for the Imp soon (which they will, according to the tv show hehe).

Leave a Reply

